Home Ventilation system Fargo-based Happy Hooligans wins Air Force Outstanding Unit Award – InForum

Fargo-based Happy Hooligans wins Air Force Outstanding Unit Award – InForum


FARGO — The North Dakota Air National Guard’s 119th Wing, also known as the Happy Hooligans, has won the Air Force Outstanding Unit Award for the 23rd time. The unit accepted the award in a ceremony at Hector Air Force Base in Fargo on Saturday.

The award is presented by the Secretary of the U.S. Air Force to units that have distinguished themselves through outstanding service or outstanding achievement, including successful participation in combat operations or exposure to hostile action by an opposing foreign force .

Maj. Gen. Al Dohrmann, Adjutant General of North Dakota, placed the award banner on the 119 Wing colors and commended the Hooligan Airmen for their outstanding service and accomplishment of their mission.

The award was accepted on behalf of the 119 Wing by its commanding officer, Col. Mitch Johnson.

The recent award period was for achievements returned from October 1, 2019 to September 30, 2020, during which 119 Wing saw 10,000 airborne combat hours. The 119th Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance Group also saw continued productivity.

The Hooligans have previously won the award in 1971, 1973, 1979, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1998, 2001, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2.

In addition to the AFOUA award, the North Dakota Air National Guard Outstanding Airmen of the Year were also recognized at the ceremony.

Field Officer of the Year: Lt. Col. Jeffrey Hovdenes

· Company Officer of the Year: Capt. Jesse Moch

· Senior NCO of the Year: Senior Master Sgt. Map of Danielle

· NCO of the Year: Tech. sergeant. Abigail Swanson

Sailor of the Year: Senior Airman Ethan Cermak

Also honored were the Unit’s Career Advisor of the Year, Master Sgt. Daniel Solberg, 119th Civil Engineer Squadron; and First Sergeant of the Year, Master Sgt. Ryan Nelson, 119th Operations Group.